Back to authors

Stuart Macintyre

Stuart Forbes Macintyre is a former Ernest Scott Professor of History and Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Melbourne. He has been voted one of Australia’s most influential public intellectuals. He is the author of the bestselling Concise History of Australia, which has gone into a number of editions, and editor, with Alison Bashford, of the two-volume Cambridge History of Australia. His book The Reds won The Age Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award in 1998 and The History Wars, co-written with Anna Clark won the 2004 New South Wales Premier’s Australian History Prize. He’s the author of Australia’s Boldest Experiment, winner of the Ernest Scott Prize and the NSW Premier’s Australian History Prize in 2016, and co-author, with James Waghorne, of Liberty: A history of civil liberties in Australia. Stuart Macintyre passed away in November 2021.

Books from this author