Back to authors

Donald Horne

Donald Horne (1921–2005) was an Australian writer. He worked in journalism, starting as a reporter for The Daily Telegraph and going on to edit the intellectual periodical The Observer and The Bulletin. He was an academic in the school of political science at the UNSW from 1973–86. He chaired public bodies, served as a university chancellor and held a number of other public positions. He wrote more than two dozen books including The Lucky Country, Money Made Us, Death of the Lucky Country, The Great Museum and 10 Steps to a More Tolerant Australia. He also wrote two memoirs: Into the Open which covers the period 1958 to 1999; and Dying: A Memoir, a portrait of the period before and after his death, co-written with Myfanwy Horne and published posthumously.

Books from this author